My Famous Chicken Nuggets

My wife and I decided to start our Memorial Day weekend with some serious comfort food. That means mixing up a batch of my famous chicken nuggets. I’ve come a long way when it comes to chicken.

Soon after I met Linda she discovered that my freezer was stocked with nothing but several varieties of Weaver microwavable chicken and Quaker Steak-ums. She put and end to that and showed me how to prepare fresh chicken several ways including nuggets. I took what she showed me and ran with it. Now she prefers mine to hers. So do our 3 kids. So do many of their friends. They are always a hit at our Superbowl parties.

  • Cut the chicken into strips or small bite sized pieces. There’s really no wrong way to cut them.
  • Grab a gallon Ziplock bag and add around a half cup of flour (I don’t measure).
  • Add around and half cup bread crumbs (again I don’t measure).
  • Now add around half a cup of panko chips (if you haven’t figured it out by now, I don’t measure this either).
  • Add a bunch of ground pepper – maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons if I had to guess.
  • Add Mortons Nature’s Seasons – maybe another 3 tablespoons.
  • Add a dash or two of cinnamon. It’s one of my favorite ingredients.
  • Add a dash or two of chili powder to give it some kick.
  • Shake the bag until the mix is even. Add more pepper if you can’t make it out in the mix.
  • Sprinkle a little Nature’s Seasons over the chicken and then add one piece at a time to the bag.
  • Shake well and keep adding chicken.
  • Heat the oil
  • Add chicken and cook until a nice golden brown.

I’ve found that you can use wheat bread crumbs instead, but the chicken comes out a little darker color. You’ll have to play around with the amounts of each ingredient until you find something that works for you. I do it all by eye. When the mix looks right, I toss the chicken in. Don’t be afraid to try adding something else to the mix. That’ show I came up with the cinnamon and chili powder.

Let me know how your chicken came out and if you found any other ingredients that work well in the mix.

One Response to “My Famous Chicken Nuggets”

  1. Football Food Frenzy « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    [...] and shredded Colby Jack cheese. This morning we cut up the chicken and seasoned a bunch of it for my famous chicken tenders. We also sauteed a bunch for several tins of chicken fried rice. Linda scrambled at least 18 eggs, [...]


What Are Your Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

