Cinnamon Takes a Back Seat to No Babka

My wife Linda and I are huge Seinfeld fans. We can quote many lines from many episodes. However, no line is nearer and dearer to my heart then this one and the lines that follow.

“Cinnamon takes a back seat to no babka. People love cinnamon. It should be on tables at restaurants along with salt and pepper. Anytime anyone says, “Oh this is so good, what’s in it?” The answer invariably comes back, “Cinnamon.” “Cinnamon.” Again and again. Lesser babka?? I think not.” – Jerry Seinfeld

You see, I am one of those people that love cinnamon. With my sweet tooth, I really enjoy eating at Cinnabon. Cinnamon rolls, cinnamon sticks, you name it. I even chew cinnamon Trident gum now that I can’t find Wrigley’s Big Red gum anywhere.

But that’s not the only reason I like the Seinfeld quote so much. My wife, my kids, and many of our friends really love my homemade chicken nuggets. So what’s in them? Cinnamon – among other things. I’m not going to post the recipe though. It’s not a secret recipe. Besides, I’ve already given away the secret ingredient! It’s just that I don’t measure anything when I make them. It’s all by eye.

Here are the ingredients for my chicken nuggets: flour, bread crumbs, panko chips, Morton’s Nature Seasons, ground black pepper, cinnamon, and chili powder.

6 Responses to “Cinnamon Takes a Back Seat to No Babka”

  1. Cinnamon Peppers? « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] a little. We had a few peppers leftover and I thought I would try to experiment a little. Since I like cinnamon so much, and it is a little hot and goes well with sweet things, I sprinkled some cinnamon on the […]

  2. Candied Butternut Squash with Cinnamon and Honey Recipe « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] that looked like something I might actually like that has honey and cinnamon in it. Cinnamon is one of my favorite ingredients after all. I’ve modified the original recipe to include brown sugar and nutmeg based on some […]

  3. Spaghetti with Turkey Meatballs « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] of them. I think next time I might suggest she add more cinnamon to the sauce. It is one of my favorite ingredients, after […]

  4. Almost Forgot About Pie « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] we had for Thanksgiving was an apple pie. Linda made it from scratch and used a lot of cinnamon, which I love. I failed to take a picture of it, but it looked pretty good. The crumble topping was really tasty […]

  5. Cinnamon Roll Waffles « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] Yes, I know this isn’t a healthy way to start the day, but I just can’t resist cinnamon rolls. Remember, cinnamon is one of my favorite ingredients. […]

  6. Spiced Pork Tenderloin with Sauteed Apples Recipe « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] pork smelled really good while cooking. That’s probably because I love cinnamon so much. It also looked really good. I’m not a big fan of apples and shallots are close enough to […]


What Are Your Thoughts?

