Beware of Dog

I’m sure you’ve probably seen these signs at some point or another. They protect you because thieves are afraid of what’s inside the house. The same kind of thing applies to fussy eaters.

A fussy eater will often avoid certain foods because of what’s in them. I don’t like onions, so I’ll avoid foods that have onions in them. The same is true for garlic. However, there are sometimes exceptions. I don’t like tomatoes, but I will eat pizza which contains pizza sauce. I also eat ketchup which is primarily tomatoes. However, I don’t eat spaghetti with sauce. I have tasted spaghetti sauce and it is not the same as pizza sauce (as I’m sure any Italian mother can confirm).

In order to get your fussy eater to try something you are going to have to avoid the “What’s in it?” question. That’s easier said than done. It’s the first question I ask when given something new. This is where a certain level of trust helps. My wife Linda knows some of the things I strongly dislike. She won’t have me try something that contains them. So I have to trust her and not ask what’s in a new dish until after I have tried it. This works well with older fussy eaters, but may be more difficult with the younger ones.

What Are Your Thoughts?

