My Bovine Autopsy

This is what’s left after I finish my steak. I don’t like fat. It tastes bad and feels weird. So I routinely trim it off my steak, pork chops, or any other meat with fat. In fact, I cut a little extra off just to make sure there is no noticeable traces of fat. My wife often comments that it looks more like an autopsy than a meal. This  was a pretty lean cut so there isn’t as much left over as there sometimes is. With a bigger, less lean cut there is often enough left on my plate to feed another person. It’s one thing to do this in the comfort of my own home, but when we eat out I often wonder what the wait staff thinks when they clear our table.

6 Responses to “My Bovine Autopsy”

  1. fireychefgurl Says:

    I am right there with you on this one. I do the exact same thing. I hate when people comment I am such a “picky” eater but I watch the fat that goes in my mouth. I do not like animal fat I will dissect my whole piece of meat before eating it, this includes corned beef as well. My mother always yelled at me for doing this and said do not play with your food. How can I not? It’s disgusting. To this day she tells me in front of my husband and family to not play with my food. It’s embarrassing, still I do it because I care about what I eat.

    • Bob R Says:

      It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that dissects a steak. It sucks that your mom hasn’t come to terms with how you eat. I’m assuming your husband is supportive. I don’t recall how my mom dealt with my fussiness but wife is supportive.

      • fireychefgurl Says:

        He picks on me a bit but I think he understands. My mom to this day still does not believe I’m allergic to tomatoes. She thinks I just won’t eat them. Very ignorant. To a point I am a very picky eater but I am trying to get better. Keep up you good work, love your blog!

      • Bob R Says:

        Thanks. Fortunately I’m not allergic to any foods (that I know of). I’m just fussy but trying to get better too.

  2. Pit Bull Transport « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] a little more lean a cut than the NY strip steak. I generally will eat the whole thing rather than leaving a lot of pieces of fat behind. The rice pilaf was a little spicy, but I’ve been getting used to spicier foods lately so […]

  3. TGI Fridays Gift Card « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] flavorful and incredibly tender. It’s also very lean. I don’t leave anything behind like I usually do. That’s why I always try to find a TGI Fridays when I travel for business. I’ve even […]


What Are Your Thoughts?

