Southwestern Grilled Chicken Recipe

I’ve mentioned before that when dealing with fussy eaters, it is good to build on things they like. Since I liked the way the Southwestern Tilapia came out the other day, I figured the same basic seasoning would work for chicken. I didn’t use as much salt as I did with the Tilapia, but I did use more red pepper and chili powder (not that I actually measured them).

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon red pepper
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Chicken breasts

Instructions:

  1. Mix dry ingredients in a Glad or Ziplock bag.
  2. Add olive oil to the bag and mix thoroughly.
  3. Add Chicken to the bag and shake until evenly coated.
  4. Put aluminum foil on the grill and cook on medium-high heat for about 10 minutes (actual time may vary based on your grill so just cook until done).

The chicken wasn’t nearly as salty as the Tilapia but it was a bit hotter spice-wise due to the increase in red pepper and chili powder. I think I am taking a liking to red pepper now. Who would have thought?

Have you discovered any new ingredients that you really like now?

9 Responses to “Southwestern Grilled Chicken Recipe”

  1. Kristina Says:

    haha I love your blog! This totally reminds me of growing up at home… my brother would not (and still won’t!) eat anything other than mac and cheese and spaghetti and meatballs, super stubborn eater 🙂 Love your grilled chicken!

    • Bob R Says:

      Your brother should try a few of my recipes. I must admit I have been a little surprised at some of them that I liked. You should try the Southwestern Tilapia. It’s basically the same seasoning as the grilled chicken.

  2. Tri-Color BBQ Bell Peppers Recipe « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] dinner as part of a pottery group she belongs to. That seemed like a great time to break out the southwestern grilled chicken and also try out some grilled peppers. So without further ado, here is the […]

  3. More Color On My Plate « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] chance to try it. If I didn’t like them at least they wouldn’t go to waste. I made southwestern chicken and also some Italian chicken marinated in Italian […]

  4. Southwestern Salmon Recipe « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] recently taken a liking to some southwestern recipes like Tilapia and Chicken. It seems to me that the same basic ingredients could probably work with Salmon as well. Since […]

  5. S’Mores Indoors « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] had typical summer grilling food at the party. I had burgers, hot dogs, southwestern chicken, and peppers and onions on the grill. They all went over pretty well, but we had some leftovers. […]

  6. Marlys @Thisand That Says:

    This looks delicious. Thanks for posting on Foodie Friends Friday.
    marlys-thisandthat.blogspot.com

  7. Walking On Sunshine Says:

    Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday! Please come back on Sunday to VOTE!

  8. Southwestern Cod Recipe « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] that I have done a lot with southwestern spices lately. I’ve done tilapia, salmon, and chicken so far. Now it’s time to add cod to the […]


What Are Your Thoughts?

