Honey Mint Glazed Chicken Recipe

Here’s a recipe I found on www.simplyrecipes.com that I thought would fit right in with my sweet tooth and love of mint. It didn’t quite turn out like I had hoped.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 4-5 pound chicken, cut into parts
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2-3 Tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh mint or 2 Tbsp dried mint

Directions:

  1. Place chicken pieces in a bowl.
  2. Mix vinegar with olive oil and pour over chicken pieces. Turn chicken pieces so that all are coated with the simple marinade.
  3. Let marinate for 30 minutes to an hour.
  4. In a small bowl mix honey, mint, and just enough water for a good basting consistency. Set aside for glazing the chicken.
  5. Prepare grill for medium high heat.
  6. Remove chicken pieces from marinade. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper.
  7. Place chicken pieces on the hot grill, skin side up.
  8. Cook for approximately 30-40 minutes, covered, turning every 7 or 8 minutes.
  9. For the last 5-10 minutes of cooking, baste all sides with the honey mint mixture. The chicken is done when the juices run clear not pink when a knife tip is inserted into both the chicken breast and thigh, about 165°F for the breast and 180°F for the thigh.

via Honey Mint Glazed Chicken Recipe | Simply Recipes.

So where did I go wrong? Well, I think I did several things wrong. First, I mixed all the ingredients together in a Zip-Lock bag rather than just mixing the oil and vinegar and mixing the rest separately to glaze it, The second mistake I made was forgetting that I had leftover meatloaf in the fridge. My wife makes it up special for me with just bread crumbs and egg. When she reminded me it was there, I had already put the chicken in the marinade. I figured it would be fine, so I just stuck the bag in the fridge for the night. I was grilling Southwestern chicken the following night so I just tossed in on the other side of the grill. Well, when my wife heard that I had been marinating chicken in a vinegar mix overnight she mentioned that she had heard that was a bad idea and the chicken doesn’t marinate the same as beef. Well, she was right. The chicken came out kind of rubbery and not at all juicy even though it was on the grill for the same amount of time the Southwestern chicken was. I also attempted to make this into a sandwich like the others were doing with the Southwestern chicken. The bread and cheese were probably the only redeeming qualities.

Although I will call this a failure, since it was due to my screwing it up, I’m going to have to try this one again sometime. I’m not going to call this “food I like”, “food I dislike”, or even “food I tolerate” because I could not accurately judge it.

When you try this recipe, make sure you follow the directions properly.

What Are Your Thoughts?

