Southwestern Tilapia and Brown Rice Recipe

I had some brown rice leftover from when I did the chicken and brown rice and I still have a bunch of tilapia from the BOGO at Price Chopper,  so I decided to try it with tilapia instead of chicken. Since I liked the Southwestern Tilapia, I figured I’d use the same basic seasoning. It’s another quick, healthy meal you can make instead of ordering take-out.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 Tilapia fillets
  • Corn, peas , broccoli or other vegetables as desired

Instructions

  1. Mix olive oil and dry ingredients in a food storage bag.
  2. Add tilapia to the bag and shake until thoroughly coated.
  3. Dump tilapia and the remainder of the oil mix in a skillet.
  4. Cook until tilapia starts to turn a bit more white – but not completely cooked.
  5. Add approximately 2 cups of cooked brown rice to skillet.
  6. Add vegetable to skillet.
  7. Use wooden spoon to mix the ingredients and break the tilapia up.
  8. Stir until all ingredients are cooked.

I overdid it a bit on the red pepper. I don’t measure so my list of ingredients is approximate. Apparently, I must have added a bit more red pepper and chili powder as my mouth was definitely feeling the heat. However, that did a good job of masking the fish taste, so overall I will call this a success.

What Are Your Thoughts?

