Shogun Sushi & Sake Bar

My wife and I were in Albany recently around lunch time so we decided to find someplace to grab lunch. It was a toss-up between the Lark Street Tavern or Shogun Sushi & Sake Bar. We figured Shogun would be a nice change of pace from our usual burgers, pizza, or subs.

 

 

I forgot to bring my reading glasses with me, but was still able to make out a few dishes that seemed reasonable. I’ve had hibachi chicken before, so I wanted to try something different. I noticed they had chicken tempura, which was listed as a deep-fried chicken dish so I went with that. My wife opted for the Teriyaki beef. She had a salad with hers and I went with the miso soup since I already know I don’t like salad.

 

 

The soup was a bit different. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t come close to finishing it either. I didn’t like the little bits of tofu at all. They were kind of squishy and didn’t taste good either. I probably won’t get miso soup again, unless I’m out to dinner with a client, in which case I’d have just enough to be polite. I don’t travel that often so I probably won’t have to worry about it for quite a while. Shortly after we finished our soup and salad, they brought us our meals.

 

 

I was a bit surprised by everything that came with my lunch. I really just expected some fried chicken and rice. I wasn’t expecting any sushi (despite it being a part of the name of the place). I didn’t touch any of the sushi. I also didn’t go near the egg rolls or the onion ring. I did at least try the rest of the fried vegetables. The chicken was really good but there were only two long pieces. The fried sweet potato was pretty good too. I think there was also a carrot, which wasn’t bad fried. The zucchini was OK, but I didn’t finish it or the squash (at least that’s what I think they were). Oh, I didn’t care for that red dipping sauce either even though Linda said it was sweet. I did try a little of her beef and that was pretty good though.

I like the way the fried food comes out really light. I’m going to have to figure out how they do that. My chicken nuggets always come out so much darker and heavier. I only use a little bit of panko and these look like they have very little else.

What Are Your Thoughts?

