Another Go At Joe’s

My wife and I were lucky enough to get an invite to the mock service (I found out that’s what they officially call it) at Joe’s Crab Shack a while back. Since then, we thought about going back, but the wait was way too long at around two hours. We headed over mid-afternoon over the weekend and it was only one hour so we decided to wait it out.

They are a little more high tech than most places. They don’t give you some little device that lights up to tell you your table is ready. They ask for a cell number and you get a text. That means you aren’t tethered to the building, if you wanted to run out and take care of a few errands while waiting. We  figured we would wait there in case seats opened up at the bar, but had no such luck. The wait did give us a chance to look over the menu. When we were at the mock service they had a very limited menu to choose from, so know we got to see everything. There was a lot to choose from.

Since we had plenty of time to kill, we decided to try one of their specialty drinks – The Shark Bite. It’s made from Bacardi Limón Rum, Skyy Vodka, and blue curacao. On the side of the glass they give you small plastic shark with grenadine. When you pour it in it doesn’t mix on it’s own so it looks like blood in the water – hence the name Shark Bite. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was really good. I have a major sweet tooth and it was definitely sweet.

When our table was ready we already knew the appetizers we wanted. I got mozzarella sticks and Linda got the crab dip. The mozzarella sticks were delicious and there were a lot of them too. Linda wasn’t so lucky with the crab dip. It was cold. Each of our kids has worked in food service at one time or another so we know better than to blame the wait staff, but our waitress Deanna was very apologetic anyway and called over a manager who said they were going to bring us another one on the house.

For our entrees, I decided to go with the fish and chips. Linda went with Queen Crab with Old Bay flavor. We had never heard of queen crab. It was bigger than snow crab but not spiny like king crab. Linda loved it. She gave me a taste and it wasn’t bad. My fish and chips were good too. Unfortunately, I was so eager to eat, that I completely forgot to take a picture of it first.

When we were just about done with our meals, Linda pointed out the dessert special – Campfire S’Mores. I thought about getting it, but noticed someone at the table behind us with this awesome looking chocolate cake. When Deanna returned, she let us in on a little secret – the s’mores include a smaller piece of the same cake. That was enough to make up my mind. I got the Campfire S’Mores.

They bring it out to you in a cast iron pan. Unfortunately I didn’t include my fork in the picture to give you a sense of scale. It’s a pretty big dessert. There’s graham cracker at the bottom, then chocolate cake, then more graham cracker, a chocolate bar, and it is all topped off with marshmallows. I was in heaven. I was full before I finished it, but just couldn’t bear to leave any behind. This was a special dessert so I don’t know if every Joe’s Crab Shack serves it. If they have it at your local Joe’s, I highly recommend it.

What Are Your Thoughts?

