Meatloaf and Mashed Potatoes

Fall has arrived. With it comes the fall meals like pot roast and meatloaf. Usually, I do most of the cooking at our house, because my wife got tired of the restrictions that I put on so many meals. However, she does still make a few dishes that I really enjoy. Pot roast is one of them, and meatloaf is another. She cooks in the same way I do, which means she doesn’t measure things out either.

She starts with approximately 1 lb of ground beef. I think we typically get the 85% lean ground beef. Then she adds an egg, some half-n-half, bread crumbs, and the Instant Gourmet seasoning she used on the pot roast. She turns the oven on 350 and then sets a timer for 30 minutes. When the timer goes off we check the meatloaf to see how much more time it looks like it needs. Usually it’s just another 15 minutes. While we waited, I prepared a batch of Betty Crocker Butter and Herb Mashed Potatoes. I don’t boil the water/mix until the meatloaf comes out since it cooks so quickly.

Her meatloaf is delicious. It’s a nice hearty meal that really hits the spot on a chilly evening. The potatoes are great too. I’m not usually a fan of mashed potatoes, perhaps due to the uneven texture. With instant potatoes that’s not a problem. They also have a nice buttery taste. I think I ate half of the potatoes myself. Linda only had a little bit. The only thing I don’t care for about the potatoes is that they don’t reheat well. I can have leftover meatloaf another day, but I need to make up another pouch of instant potatoes to go with it.

I got a little adventurous and even put a little gravy on both the meatloaf and potatoes. I don’t usually do that.

What Are Your Thoughts?

