Spaghetti with Turkey Meatballs

I’m not a fan of red sauce. Pizza sauce is the only exception. It’s not the same as spaghetti sauce no matter who tries to tell you otherwise. They are seasoned differently. Recently, my wife made spaghetti with turkey meatballs and made her own sauce taking my fussy palate into consideration.

I’m not calling this a recipe, because quite honestly, I don’t know exactly how my wife made it. I do know that she started with tomato sauce and tomato paste. I know she added sugar and a little cinnamon. Beyond that, I’m clueless. I do know that the meatballs were made from 99% lean ground turkey. She didn’t use an onions in them either. Turkey meatballs don’t brown up quite like regular meatballs, but since they’re going in the sauce that doesn’t really matter much anyway.

As you can see from the picture, I didn’t take much spaghetti. The sauce wasn’t as bad as most I’ve tried, I didn’t even scrape it off the meatballs like I usually would. It was passable, but I didn’t enjoy it. The meatballs, however, were quite good and I had several of them. I think next time I might suggest she add more cinnamon to the sauce. It is one of my favorite ingredients, after all.

What Are Your Thoughts?

