Crock Pot Pork Chops Recipe

Fall seems to be the time of year that people break out the crock pots and slow cookers. They’re great for pot roast, but can also be used to make some really great meals that you probably cook other ways. You might not even have considered using a crock pot for them. I know I would never have thought to use it for pork chops.

My wife Linda was looking around for slow cooker recipes and stumbled on this one that looked good so we decided to give it a try this past weekend. We made a few changes based on availability of ingredients. I’m listing the recipe the way we prepared it. Feel free to visit the source to find the original recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  •  Goya’s Con Culantro Y Achiote
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 4 thick cut boneless pork chops
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the olive oil, chicken broth, and seasonings.
  2. Pour into the slow cooker.
  3. Cut small slits in each pork chop with the tip of a knife, and season lightly with salt and pepper.
  4. Place pork chops into the crock pot, cover, and cook on High for 4 hours flipping them about once an hour.

via Slow Cooker Pork Chops II Recipe – Allrecipes.com.

When Linda found this recipe we made sure to pick up all the ingredients, but apparently we missed a few things. We thought we had paprika and totally overlooked the poultry seasoning. We decided to skip them both and use Achiote instead since we always have some on hand.

I must confess that I was a little nervous about this recipe since it not only calls for garlic powder, but also minced garlic as well. Still, I tried to keep an open mind and waited until they were done to try it. They certainly didn’t smell bad in the crock pot all afternoon.

So finally the moment of truth came as it was time for dinner. The first thing we noticed was how incredibly tender they were. The chops were practically falling apart as we pulled them out. I really liked the way they fat separated from the meat. Even Linda noticed that the fat wasn’t as appetizing as it would normally be when they were fried or broiled.

When Linda served my pork chops, I didn’t see any noticeable garlic on them. I think the garlic may sink to the bottom of the crock pot, but I’m not sure. All I know is that it wasn’t on my chops and that’s a good thing. Since they were so tender, you only needed a fork to break it up into bite sized pieces. I still wasn’t sure if I was going to like them. Linda said hers needed more seasoning. Personally, I thought they were really good. As they used to say in the Alka-Seltzer commercials – ” I can’t believe I ate the whole thing”.

So this recipe gets the fussy eater stamp of approval. Chances are we’ll be trying a few more crock pot recipes this fall. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

2 Responses to “Crock Pot Pork Chops Recipe”

  1. Raisin Baked Pork Chops | familyrecipebooks Says:

    […] Crock Pot Pork Chops Recipe (feedyourfussyeater.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Michele Says:

    These look delicious! Thanks for the link.


What Are Your Thoughts?

