A Fussy Feast – Thanksgiving with a Fussy Eater

There is no better time to spot a fussy eater than Thanksgiving when most plates are overflowing with a wide variety of food. Growing up my plate was typically filled with lots of turkey (with no gravy), corn, peas, a dinner roll, and (if I was feeling very adventurous) a small serving of mashed potatoes. Times have certainly changed. Much of what was on my plate this year would never have been in the past.

I’m just going to go over the various dishes and what I thought of them for now. I will be posting recipes for many of them individually in the coming days.

We tried something different with the turkey this year. Instead of just sprinkling a lot of seasoning on the turkey just before sticking it in the oven, my wife found an interesting brine recipe. It had brown sugar, cinnamon and red pepper in it. This was quite a departure for us, but it came out really good and I had seconds and even a small third helping.

Linda made homemade mashed potatoes and gravy. I’m usually more a fan of Betty Crocker Butter and Herb potatoes, but these were good. Her gravy was also pretty good, even though I didn’t have much of it. She also made homemade stuffing. Everyone else seemed to enjoy it, but I didn’t care for it at all.

Our daughter came over with a parsnip dish with a creamy cheese sauce. I only tried a little bit of it, but I didn’t like it at all. She used a Gruyere cheese. I’m not sure if it was the cheese or the parsnips that I didn’t like – or both. We may try to make the dish with Parmesan cheese to see if that tastes better.

Linda also made a dish she usually makes for the holidays that I can’t believe I never tried before – candied yams. With all the brown sugar and marshmallows it was right up my alley. I went back for seconds and had leftovers the next day too.

Dessert wasn’t like past years. Usually, Linda makes me a chocolate pie or some other chocolate treat. This year, she made pecan pie and apple pie from scratch. Our daughter brought a no-bake chocolate pumpkin pie. The pecan pie was sweet, but I didn’t care for the nutty taste. The apple pie was OK. I might be able to learn to enjoy it with more cinnamon. The chocolate pumpkin pie was made with a very dark chocolate so it wasn’t very sweet. I didn’t care for the pumpkin aftertaste. I’ve already learned that I don’t care for winter squash like butternut squash or acorn squash. Pumpkin is another one I don’t like.

I almost forgot that Linda also made homemade honey wheat bread. It didn’t rise as much as we would have liked, but it was still delicious.

All in all, it was a great holiday. I hope you all enjoyed yours and tried something different. Let me know some of the new dishes you tried and I’ll check them out as well.

2 Responses to “A Fussy Feast – Thanksgiving with a Fussy Eater”

  1. Open Faced Turkey Sandwich « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] A Fussy Feast – Thanksgiving with a Fussy Eater […]

  2. Almost Forgot About Pie « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] A Fussy Feast – Thanksgiving with a Fussy Eater […]


What Are Your Thoughts?

