Candied Yams Recipe

My wife has been making these for the holidays for as long as I can remember. She always thought I had tried them and disliked them, but for some unknown reason, I never did. Well, the reason isn’t really unknown. It’s because I thought I wouldn’t like them because of the yams. In any case, this year I went ahead and tried them. I can’t believe I went this long without trying them. Here is the recipe if you’d like to give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of yams
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup marshmallows

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Pour yams into a 9×9 baking dish
  3. Cut up butter into small pieces and distribute evenly
  4. Sprinkle brown sugar evenly over the yams
  5. Cover with marshmallows
  6. Bake for about 25 minutes or until marshmallows become golden brown

If your fussy eater has a sweet tooth, then there is a pretty good likelihood they will enjoy these. I actually went back for seconds and then had more the next day as well. I’m already looking forward to the next time Linda makes them.

5 Responses to “Candied Yams Recipe”

  1. Autism News Says:

    Sorry these aren’t really healthy when you are eating canned and then marshmallows too.

    • Bob R Says:

      Yes, I know this isn’t exactly a healthy recipe, but it is something new that I hadn’t tried before due to my fussy nature. I still think eating vegetables like this is still better than not eating them at all though.

  2. The Travelling Chopsticks Says:

    I found your blog through FoodBuzz – and its really sweet. I think its brilliant that you are on a mission to try new and healthy foods (well maybe not the above) and can only encourage you to do so – there is a whole world of food out there for you, and i’m sure once you try it, and like the Yams above you will wonder why it has taken you so long to do so! Enjoy your adventure! 🙂

    • Bob R Says:

      Thanks. I am already amazed at how many new things I have found that I like. I’ve found a few I don’t, but overall I’d say they are outnumbered by those I do.

  3. Open Faced Turkey Sandwich « Feed Your Fussy Eater Says:

    […] Candied Yams Recipe […]


What Are Your Thoughts?

