Open Faced Turkey Sandwich

Open Faced Turkey Sandwich

Candied Yams aren’t the only dish I put off for too long. I can’t believe I avoided a simple open faced turkey sandwich until now. I think it has been the gravy that always had me nervous about it. I like turkey. I like bread. All that’s left is the gravy.

As is typical with many households, we had leftover turkey after Thanksgiving. We also had lots of bread since my wife made some delicious honey whole wheat bread from scratch. Since I tried some of her homemade gravy on the turkey for Thanksgiving and liked it, Linda suggested I try an open faced sandwich. I’m glad she did.

She made McCormick turkey gravy since the homemade gravy was gone. Then she cut up pieces of the turkey and added them to the gravy. Once it all had a chance to heat up a bit, she poured it over her homemade bread. I had some of the leftover candied yams with it and even let them touch on the plate.

I now have another thing to look forward to during the holidays.

What Are Your Thoughts?

