Superbowl Snacks and Steaks

Since the light went out during the third quarter, I’m taking the time to post a little but about the snacks and steaks we had during the game.

Superbowl - Chocolate Ecstasy

Last night my wife, Linda, made her famous Chocolate Ecstasy. It’s a pretty simple dessert to make and it goes fast. All you need is some chocolate pudding, Cool Whip, brownies, and Crunch bars. Start at the bottom of the dessert dish and line it with brownies. Then add a layer of pudding, a layer of Cool Whip and top it off with broken up pieces of Crunch bar. Then do it all over again for as many layers as you want. It is probably my favorite dessert that my wife makes. Scratch that – it IS my favorite dessert she makes.

Superbowl - Chocolate Ecstasy PlatedAn hour before the game started we prepped some homemade mozzarella sticks. We’ve done them before and  it’s always hard to get them to come out right. This time I did pretty well. Slice up the mozzarella into sticks and dip it in egg then in bread crumbs. Set them on a baking sheet and put them in the freezer for 30 minutes. Then heat some cooking oil. I cook just one at a time so they don’t get away from me. I dip them briefly until they get golden brown and then pull them out. This is where we usually have problems. It’s hard to cook them all the way through without running into problems. This time I decided not to worry about that. I just made sure the outside looked good.

Superbowl - Homemade Mozzarella SticksWhen they were all done, I put them in the oven at 400 for a few minutes to let them melt a bit more on the inside. I think this is how I am going to do them from now on because they came out better than they ever have this way.

Superbowl - Mozzarella SticksA little before the game I fired up the grill and cooked up a nice rib-eye for Linda and a New York Strip for myself.

Superbowl SteaksI made up plantains for Linda and some fries for both of us to go along with the steaks. It was a great meal, but I made sure to leave room for dessert.

Superbowl Strip Steak

Neither of us really had much serious interest in the game since our teams didn’t make it in. Since the Ravens beat the Patriots (who I wanted to see in the game) I figure they deserve to win the Superbowl. So far things are going their way.

Anyway, the lights are back on and so is the game, so I’m headed back to the couch to see more of it and those hilarious commercials. The M&Ms “I Would Do Anything For Love” commercial is my favorite this year.

3 Responses to “Superbowl Snacks and Steaks”

  1. Michele Says:

    Everything looks wonderful!

    • Bob R Says:

      Thanks. The mozzarella sticks were good. The steaks were better and the chocolate ecstasy was amazing (as it usually is).

  2. Marsheney Says:

    Yummy Nice deserts


What Are Your Thoughts?

