TGI Fridays Gift Card

Over the holidays, my brother gave us a gift card to TGI Fridays. My wife and I don’t tend to eat out often. Usually we do carryout instead and eat in the comfort of our own home. Last weekend we decided to treat ourselves to a nice late lunch. We figured dinner would be more crowded – especially on the weekend.

We started with the potato skins and mozzarella sticks. These are two of our favorite appetizers at TGI Fridays – anywhere really. We didn’t finish all of them on purpose. They are pretty filling and we wanted room for our meals. We did, however, get them boxed up to take home with us for later.

Linda ordered the Hibachi Steak Skewers. They are made with Black Angus steak. It’s marinated in a black pepper soy sauce with some garlic and basted with a miso glaze. It’s all served over a jasmine rice pilaf. She ordered broccoli as her side dish. I’m not sure why, but the skewers come with some grilled pita bread too. She gave me a taste of some of the steak from the skewers and it was pretty good. I couldn’t even tell it had garlic in the marinade.

TGI Fridays Hibachi Steak SkewersI ordered the Black Angus Flat Iron Steak. It’s topped with a maison butter which I didn’t care for much, but it didn’t detract from the steak much. The steak was very flavorful and incredibly tender. It’s also very lean. I don’t leave anything behind like I usually do. That’s why I always try to find a TGI Fridays when I travel for business. I’ve even found a few airports that have one. Anyway, I selected broccoli and sweet potato fries as my two sides. The broccoli was OK, but I prefer the florets. They also weren’t seasoned very well or possibly at all. There’s something that strange to hear coming from me. The sweet potato fries were really good. I think they were baked because they weren’t oily. They didn’t have the kick that my sweet potato fries do, but I really liked them.

TGI Fridays Black Angus Flat Iron SteakIt was a very enjoyable meal out. Later that night, we heated up the leftover potato skins and mozzarella sticks. Overall, I’d have to say that TGI Fridays is probably one of my favorite restaurants. If it was a little closer we might be more inclined to eat there more often. It makes a really nice treat though.