Southwestern Cod Recipe

If you’ve been paying attention, you may have noticed that I have done a lot with southwestern spices lately. I’ve done tilapia, salmon, and chicken so far. Now it’s time to add cod to the list.

My wife was having king crab the other day and I hadn’t yet tried it at Joe’s Crab Shack so I made something different for myself. I wanted to stay with the seafood theme, so I decided to try cod. It’s another mild fish so I expected that it would turn out well.

Ingredients:

  • Cod fillet
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 lime (or lime juice)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. In a food storage bag, mix spices together.
  3. Add olive oil to the bag.
  4. Squeeze lime juice into the bag.
  5. Add the cod to the bag and shake until thoroughly coated.
  6. Bake around 15 minutes or so – until flaky.

 

 

I don’t measure things so when I pulled the cod out of the bag, it didn’t seem coated quite well enough. I shook a little black pepper and chili powder on it for good measure. I cooked it in a glass pan as I did with the salmon and tilapia. I like my fish thoroughly cooked so you may want to give it a little less time if you like them a bit less done.

As expected the cod was delicious. I’m slowly becoming more of a seafood eater. At some point I’ll have to try lobster. I’ll probably steer clear of clams because of the texture though. Now that I’m finding more fish that I’ll eat I need to look for some new recipes so I don’t get tired of the same southwestern flavor on all of it.

Any ideas?